Just a college student trying to make it through Web Design

1. Not only is Scratch itself a cool idea, but the Lifelong Kindergarten is really cool, especially its emphasis on getting kids to learn/interact with code. Additionally, I really like how MIT’s Lifelong Kindergarten is using Scratch and other projects as a teaching tool and as a way to connect students with one another through their creative projects. Personally, I am fan of visually seeing code. I am a visual learner and I enjoyed putting the “blocks” of code together to create my game. Although I am a fan of Scratch in general, it is a little hard to move things around and to copy/paste blocks. However, this may be fixed in the upcoming 2.0 version.

2. It may not look like I spent a lot of time on the game characters, and that is because I must have spent the majority of the two hours trying to get the background to move. I ended up drawing four new scripts to depict movement and copying the code from one of the gaming examples as well as doing a quick Google search. However, the gamer sprite (the bat) goes past the edge of the screen and I am not really sure how to fix that problem. Otherwise, I found Scratch to be pretty straightforward once you get the hang of it.

3.  Ultimately, I want my game to be a Mario-type game of sorts… except, Halloween style! I was practicing making the bat move during class and so I decided to just roll with the general theme. As the bat, the player must dodge other scary, Halloween characters (dragon, witch, ghosts) until they reach the end of the finish line. If you get hit less than 3 times, you win– if you get hit more than 3, you lose. If the player gets hit, the bat becomes pixelated and the other characters change costume.

A Halloween-themed game for all ages.

A Halloween-themed game for all ages.

Here is my very early start of the game:

http://transmedia.trinity.edu/~lsandlin/scratchgame1.sb

Leave a comment